As an owner of the world, you can restrict access to your world by:

  • Requiring users to authenticate

  • Adding a password to your world

  • Limited access to an approved guestlist

  • Implementing employee-only entry via SAML/Okta*

*This option is only available to "Community" subscribers. In addition to monthly subscription, each unique user that visits your world using SAML / Okta authentication costs $2 per month.

To implement employee-only SAML / Okta contact us at [email protected]


πŸ”’ Password

When you add a password, users must enter the password to access your world. With this method, you will set a single password for the world that is used by all participants - think of it as the secret-code.

Note: Anyone who has the password to your world could share it with others. Once in your world, both owners and admins have access to remove ("ban") users from the space. Learn more about banning here.

Here's how to setup a password:

  • Login to your world.

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer

  • Click Authentication.

  • On the Authentication page, click the toggle under Require Password. When turned on, the toggle will show a check mark highlighted in teal.

  • In the field for World Password enter a password.

  • Collapse the page by clicking the icon in the top right corner or close the page and drawer by clicking the β€œx” in the drawer.

  • Now users will need to enter the password before they can access your world.


βœ… Authentication

When you enable this option, only users who have signed into Topia will be able to access your world. Users can authenticate using their email address or using a social account.

If you ban someone from your world, they will not be able to re-enter using an authentication method that is linked to the same email address. This is a great method to prevent spamming or 'Topia-bombing'.

Here's how to require authentication when entering your world:

  • Login to your world.

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer

  • Click Authentication.

  • On the Authentication page, click the toggle under Require Authentication. When turned on, the toggle will show a check mark highlighted in teal.

  • Collapse the page by clicking the icon in the top right corner or close the page and drawer by clicking the β€œx” in the drawer.

  • Now users will need to login to a Topia account before they can access your world.


🎟️ Approved Guestlist

For more advanced gating, you can restrict access to your world to a list of approved guests. This will prevent anyone who is not on your guestlist from entering your world. This is a great option for ticketed events!

Here's how it works:

  • Login to your world.

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer

  • Click Approved Guestlist.

  • On the Approved Guestlist page, upload your list by clicking Choose File. This must be a .csv, or Excel file. The file must follow the following structure.

Do not include column headings.

  • Then click one of the following options:

    • Replace Guestlist. This option will clear your existing list and replace it with the list that you just uploaded.

    • Add to Guestlist. This option will add the information from your upload to your whitelist and also keep the existing list intact.

  • Click the toggle under Enable Guestlist. When turned on, the toggle will show a check mark highlighted in teal.

  • Your current guestlist will be listed at the bottom of the page. From here you can also remove emails from the list.


🎫 Guestlist Display Name

When a guestlist is enabled, you can prevent a guest from entering a custom Display Name and instead force a pre-defined Display Name. To do this:

  • ​Enter your Topia world

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer and under World Configurations choose Approved Guestlist

  • On the Approved Guestlist page, upload your list by clicking Choose File. This must be a .csv, or Excel file. The file must follow the following structure, with an additional fourth column added for the Display Name

Do not include column headings.

[email protected]

John

Smith

John S

[email protected]

Alice

Alice

  • Then click one of the following options:

    • Replace Guestlist. This option will clear your existing list and replace it with the list that you just uploaded.

    • Add to Guestlist. This option will add the information from your upload to your whitelist and also keep the existing list intact.

  • Click the toggle under Enable Guestlist and the toggle under Require Guestlist Display Name. When turned on, the toggle will show a check mark highlighted in teal.

  • Collapse the page by clicking the button in the top right corner or close the page and drawer by clicking on the β€œx” in the drawer.


SSO SAML

This option is available for an additional implementation fee. To enable SSO authentication for your account, contact us at [email protected].

Did this answer your question?