πŸ— Add an Admin

As an owner, you can add multiple admins to your world.

As an owner or admin, you can make place someone in broadcast mode.

As an owner or admin, you can ban users from your world.

You can add multiple admins to your world. To add someone as an admin, both the owner and new admin must be in the world. When in the world, follow these simple steps:

  • Login to your world.

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer

  • Click Current Guests.

  • On the Current Guests page, find or search for the guest you want made an admin, and click Make Admin.

βœ”οΈ An admin has the ability to do the following:

  • Modify objects in the world (e.g., move, delete, add media)

  • Add new objects or media to the world

  • Place a user in broadcast mode

  • Ban users from your world

βœ–οΈ An admin cannot do the following:

  • Modify subscription or billing options

  • Change the scene for your world

  • Make someone else an admin

To see your current admin list:

  • Login to your world.

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer

  • Click World Admins.

Remove Admin

If you want to remove a users admin status from your world, the World Owner can revert them back to a regular user by following these simple steps:

  • Login to your world.

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer

  • Click World Admins.

  • On the World Admins page, find or search for the guest whose admin status you want removed and click the X icon next to their name.


πŸ“£ Using Broadcast Mode

Broadcast can be used to make announcements or conduct a panel discussion in your world. When someone is designated a broadcaster, their video and audio can be seen by everyone in the world or to anyone nearby the presenter, depending on the broadcast mode selected.

Note: someone who is broadcasting will still only see and hear the nine closest people, even though she may be heard and seen by more people.

πŸ“’ Broadcast Mode

Broadcast mode can be enabled for any guest within the world. This mode can be set by an owner or an admin of the world. There are two settings for broadcast mode:

  • Broadcast Near/Zone. When enabled for a user, this setting makes the guest’s audio and video available to everyone within proximity of the broadcaster or within the area of the private zone they are currently in.

  • Broadcast All. When enabled for a user, this setting will make the broadcaster's audio and video available to anyone in the world, regardless of proximity.

To start broadcast mode:

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer

  • Click Current Guests.

  • On the Current Guests page, search or find the guest you want to broadcast, and from the drop down menu under Broadcast, choose one of the broadcast options.

To stop broadcast mode:

  • On the Current Guests page, find the guest broadcasting and from the drop down menu under Broadcast choose Off.

*Note: when switching someone into broadcast mode, they may lose their video connection momentarily.

Understanding Broadcast Conversations

Topia limits each user to seeing 10 videos at a time (one of which is your own). In general, you will see up to 9 people that are in proximity to you, but broadcasters will be prioritized over proximity. Broadcasters will always appear in the top-left of your screen.

You can see multiple broadcasters at one time. For instance, if there are two broadcasters, you will see their videos and up to 7 videos of others near you.

Broadcasters themselves will also see up to 9 videos of people near them. If other people need to communicate with the broadcaster, they can use the messaging function to do so.

Using a Broadcast Podium

Learn more about broadcast podiums here.


🚫 Ban a Guest

If you want to remove a user from your world, an Admin or an Owner of the world can ban the guest by following these simple steps:

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer

  • Click Current Guests.

  • On the Current Guests page, search or find the guest you want to ban and under Actions click Ban.

To see your current ban list:

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer and choose Banned Guests.

πŸ”“ Remove a Guest from the Ban List

If you want to remove a guest from the ban list, an Admin or an Owner of the world can undo the ban by following these simple steps:

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer

  • Click Banned Guests.

  • On the Banned Guests page, search or find the guest you want to unban and under Actions click Remove.


πŸ₯Ύ Remove a User

To politely excuse a guest from a world without banning them, an Admin or an Owner of the world can use the kick feature, taking the guest out of the world and back into the entry screen.

  • Click the Settings icon on the toolbar to open the World Settings drawer

  • Click Current Guests.

  • On the Current Guests page, search or find the guest you want to excuse and under Actions click Kick.

Did this answer your question?